opinion

slide image
May 23, 2024
Video games are the new way to experience stories
Video games are an untapped source of entertainment and stories. In a sense, it is a playable movie; something that you are both watching and controlling at the same time. Today, video games deliver a spectacle in both visuals and world-building
17 year-old Christian Yeung on the untapped potential of video games
slide image
May 23, 2024
To be or not to be… an international student
Being an international student, attending different schools, seeing other countries and experiencing new environments gives you a lot of opportunities. You are able to find what you like and what you are good at, improve yourself and be prepared for the future
14 year-old Anastasia Kulikova explains the advantages of studying abroad
slide image
May 23, 2024
Is the price of having an aesthetic too high?
With the rise of social media subcultures, aesthetics have become the new trend. This viral internet trend is becoming an obsession with reducing ourselves to a defined box and capitalising on our purchasing addiction to stay current, but at the expense of the environment and our authenticity
14 year-old Helena Bruździak delves into the social media phenomenon of Gen Z aesthetics
slide image
May 23, 2024
Teen hero returns for a second helping of heavy-hitting action and powerful emotions
Though not as powerful as the first season, season 2 of Invincible manages to stay fairly steady in terms of quality, with even the weaker episodes being resonant and exciting. I just hope we won’t have to wait another two years for the next season
17 year-old Justin Sau reviews the second season of Amazon Prime’s animated superhero series Invincible
slide image
May 16, 2024
Dev Patel’s directorial debut goes bananas
In the world where John Wick and its imitators dominate the action movie genre, Dev Patel picks up a camera, directs and stars to deliver a unique piece full of passion and flare. Monkey Man might not push the boundaries of the genre, but it has everything to become an action cult classic
18 year-old Anatolii Mishustin reviews Monkey Man, a gritty action movie with a rush of adrenaline
slide image
May 09, 2024
Are NBA referees killing the game of basketball?
From players making ‘money’ gestures to the referees, coaches angrily discussing film on laptops during press conferences, and even the league’s own Officiating Last Two-Minute Reports commonly displaying multiple incorrect calls, the state of basketball refereeing is incredibly dire. There needs to be more accountability for consistently inaccurate officiating
17 year-old Inika Singh explains the controversies surrounding NBA officiating
slide image
May 02, 2024
Women-only spaces are necessary, not sexist. Here’s why
While opponents can claim that the exclusion of men amounts to sex discrimination, many argue that women-only spaces are a solution to gender inequality. These places prioritise women’s well-being and ultimately, have no negative effect on anyone
17 year-old Maria Mitko explains the importance of women-only spaces and announces the launch of the Women’s Desk at Harbingers’
slide image
May 02, 2024
Hollywood, please stop making movie musicals!
While stage-to-screen adaptations attempt to capture the essence of the original stories, there is a lingering sense that something is lost in translation – the raw and real energy of live theatre. Hollywood’s attempt to please everyone continually leaves no one satisfied
17 year-old Abigail Gonzalez Zavala bemoans the adaptations of stage musicals to film
slide image
April 25, 2024
An adventurous meditation on love soaked with Italian magic –La Chimera review
Every frame of Italian director Alice Rorhwacher’s La Chimera (a chimera is an illusion or invention of the mind) is permeated with the mythical magic and dizziness of the scorching Italian sun. It manages to be fantastical, amusing, and romantic all at once
18 year-old Anatolii Mishustin on the captivating and dreamy Italian film
slide image
April 25, 2024
We are bored: Gifted students need challenge to thrive
Gifted and Talented programs have helped students worldwide to enrich their learning. MACC, the Vancouver school program which accelerated the pace of the standard curriculum, has now been redesigned to shorten the support provided to students
18 year-old Erin Walshaw talks about her experience as a gifted student in Vancouver – and the problems she faces
slide image
April 18, 2024
Esports is a sport. Period
Despite its rapid growth, competitive online gaming isn't given the same respect as basketball or football, with many still believing it is just an activity for lazy nerds sitting in their mom's basement. So why should esports be considered a sport?
17 year-old Christian Yeung on the acknowledgment that esports deserves
slide image
April 18, 2024
Womansplaining mansplaining
Mansplaining. If you’re a woman, I can almost guarantee that you sighed at that word. Societal history has allowed for sexism to take route but there are steps we can take today to reevaluate and correct these behaviours
17 year-old Alia Saphier explains mansplaining and how to break the cycle
slide image
April 11, 2024
Teens don’t owe you opinions
As a generation we are more motivated than most before us. In spite of adults attempting to skew the opinions of teens on a vast array of unsolvable problems we should craft our own opinions and choose which to fight for
16 year-old Sanjana Senthil on the overloaded choices young people face on social media
slide image
March 29, 2024
Why Ukrainians speak Russian
When I’m asked why so many other Ukrainian refugees speak Russian, I am not sure what to answer, as the answer lies beneath complex layers of oppression from our neighbouring country – it is not a preference.
17 year-old Sofiya Tkachenko outlines the history of linguicide in Ukraine
slide image
March 29, 2024
The importance of striking a healthy balance on social media
Social media is a realm where borders blur, friendships transcend geographical barriers, and voices resound across continents. But in the vast world of online platforms, we must use these tools wisely to avoid the growing dangers it can pose
17 year-old Shanhaza and 15 year-old Mahwa warn of the dangers hidden in social media’s vast potential
slide image
March 22, 2024
Why are we resistant to traditional offices, and how can we repurpose vacant spaces?
I think my generation is so accustomed to online schooling that we can’t imagine ourselves working from an office. With both a climate and global housing crisis, we could repurpose these spaces to provide a much needed solution
18 year-old Nadia Diakowska on a work-from-home culture and reusing empty offices
slide image
March 22, 2024
Ways to maintain a healthy and balance lifestyle
Taking time to focus on our habits, our lifestyle choices, and what we put into our bodies, can be difficult and sometimes confronting but taking care of yourself is important undertaking
16 year-old Swita shares her guide to living a healthier lifestyle
slide image
March 15, 2024
We’re not ‘lazy’, technology has simply made jobs easier and more profitable
“Lazy,” “entitled,” “careless” and “lacklustre” are just some of the words used to describe my generation. But is Gen Z deserving of such names or are these just amplified misconceptions?
18 year-old Timur Boranbayev on corporate rejection amid the changing workplace
slide image
March 15, 2024
Interning amongst disenchanted workers, I realised the reality of social mobility in Singapore
With a stable political environment to attract a large share of foreign direct investments, Singapore is no doubt an economic powerhouse. Yet it withheld a more ghastly truth – a vast cityscape of inequality and an overworked population
18 year-old Chenxi Zhang examines the dreams of young Singaporeans
slide image
March 15, 2024
A medium for kids? Why we should award more Oscars to animated films
Many anime films have received universal praise for their unique storytelling, emotional depth, and thought-provoking themes, yet are largely ignored in other categories at the Oscars. As one of the leading authorities on film, the Academy must spearhead the effort to challenge preconceived notions that animation can’t be taken seriously
17 year-old Justin Sau on the greater recognition animated films deserve
slide image
March 01, 2024
Miyazaki’s perfect blend of magic and existentialism –The Boy And The Heron Review
Beautiful both visually and story-wise, The Boy And The Heron is a must-watch. It is suitable for every age as almost everyone will find something in the film to relate to
18 year-old Anatolii Mishustin on tantalising cinematography in an emotive animated film
slide image
March 01, 2024
To end Russia’s influence over Ukraine, we must learn from the past
We cannot change history, but we can learn from the past and start acting in another way. Ukraine gained independence over 30 years ago, but Russian Imperial ambitions still seem to be present
17 year-old Mariia Sydorenko on the problems of ingrained Russian propaganda
slide image
March 01, 2024
Why growing up as a young woman is scary: A teen’s perspective from Poland
Despite the global progress made in women’s rights in the past few decades, Poland still has a long way to go. The country’s strict abortion laws, gender pay gap and prescribed lifestyle for a woman’s future fills me with fear
17 year-old Maria Mitko on the daunting reality of womanhood
slide image
February 23, 2024
Simple, sexy film that brings new life to the rom-com genre. Anyone But You Review
Charming leads, an intriguing set-up and a “parent trap” meets enemies-to-lovers trope, what more is there to wish for?
17 year-old Anatolii Mishustin on the explosive chemistry of the newest grand rom-com
slide image
February 23, 2024
Why disabled individuals ‘do not exist’ in Ukraine
You do not truly realise the extent of your detachment from reality until you encounter a person with a disability and notice the systemic conditioning that leads us to believe that disabilities limit individuals
17 year-old Sofiya Tkachenko outlines proactive steps to inclusivity
slide image
February 16, 2024
Oligopolies on the vaccine market hindered saving lives - should Pfizer have profited?
With the UK’s ongoing Covid inquiry, in which an independent organisation is examining the British government's response to the pandemic, it is worth asking – should this essential drug have ever been for-profit?
16 year-old Ananya Prasanna examines the profit incentives driving pharmaceutical advancement
slide image
February 09, 2024
‘Never-ending search for the snooze button’. Can AI replace humans in writing poetry?
Long considered one of the purest forms of human emotion and expression, will AI be able to produce works that resonate on a profoundly human level like poetry should? Finnish author Jukka Aalho may hold the answer
17 year-old Justin Sau analyses computer-generated poems
slide image
February 09, 2024
Media depicting women holds one main aim: Giving a space for women to be judged
Defining a woman starts with using words like ‘trailblazer’ and ‘independent’ and ‘controversial’. A set of words is quite a small frame to describe everything that a person could be
16 year-old Sanjana Senthil’s award-winning essay on Women’s Rights
slide image
February 09, 2024
How can banks attract young customers? Understanding Gen Z's preferences
Student debt, AI improvements, and data privacy. In order to target a Gen Z demographic, banks must listen and adapt their engagement strategies
18 year-old Nadia Diakowska investigates young people’s priorities with banking
slide image
February 02, 2024
Do dogs feel guilty? I think not - you’ve conditioned them that way
It would be nice to believe that our furry pets do share a similar behavioural conscience to us - explaining exactly why they are man’s best friend. Well, science might not be on your side
17 year-old Sofia Radysh outlines the science behind the typical ‘guilty face’
slide image
January 26, 2024
Unattainable ‘angel status’. Patriarchy still skews the narratives of women in power
From fashion breakdowns to dating habits, selective media reporting has long attempted to reduce women in the spotlight to harmful gender stereotypes’
17 year-old Alia Saphier critiques the media’s continual repression of women
slide image
January 26, 2024
Shadowy, CIA-affiliated Palantir should not be trusted with NHS patients' data
Palantir Technologies has very quickly become a crucial entity in the lives of all Britons, coming into possession of sensitive UK health data. But how do you know about the company’s past?
16 year-old Camilla Savelieva on the legal and moral questions of big data entering the public sector
slide image
January 26, 2024
Let’s take music seriously. It’s not a soundtrack for picking vegetables at a supermarket
Have we lost the ability to appreciate music? The greatest talent which humanity ever had to offer is now persistently used to assist everyday activities
15 year-old Klara Hammudeh shares ways to better immerse yourself in music
slide image
January 26, 2024
Why I hated Poor Things but will watch it again and again
The star-studded cast movingly invokes the sense of the uncanny, something that lies at the heart of this modern ‘Frankenstein’ tale
17 year-old Sofiya Tkachenko on female depictions in Yorgos Lanthimos’s film
slide image
January 19, 2024
Ropes or Syringes: A Closer Look at the Death Penalty in Singapore
An ethical question on the justification of the death penalty has been debated for decades if not centuries. With a majority 73.7% in public support, I was curious to find out for myself why so many Singaporeans backed a seemingly inhumane punishment
17 year-old Nicole Jin surveys locals on the morality of crime prevention
slide image
January 19, 2024
We shouldn’t trust AI in courts - Here’s why
AI has already opened many avenues but within the legal system it was integrated far earlier than most would expect. Police data, on which these software train on, contain a long history of bias that one can’t help but question the validity of its predictions
17 year-old Cressida Anness Lorenz on the dangers of data bias
slide image
January 12, 2024
Has the movie industry transformed into a risk-averse machine?
As the tsunami of reboots and remakes continues to threaten to overwhelm us, it's crucial to recognize the consequences of this trend. While nostalgia can provide moments of joy and familiarity, it should not be a substitute for genuine creativity
16 year-old Justin Sau criticises the culture of remakes
slide image
January 12, 2024
Messy biopic where only battlefields shine: Napoleon review
Joaquin Phoenix and Vanessa Kirby put on grand performances that are still not enough to save the film from coming across as bloated
17 year-old Anatolii Mishustin reviews the latest box office disappointment
slide image
January 05, 2024
She is your mirror, and both of you will mirror our reality: May December review
Netflix dropped its Oscar contender, an eerie drama by Todd Haynes which delivers a slow-burner that hits you in the guts
17 year-old Anatolii Mishustin on the masterfully crafted new film
slide image
December 22, 2023
A film equivalent to a long hug encapsulates the Christmas spirit. The Holdovers review
The story of three unlikely individuals finding a family bond in uncertain circumstances is medicine for a broken heart. And with its emotional warmth and sentimentally cheerful ending, ‘The Holdovers’ still touches on severe topics of grief and depression - and does that quite well
17 year-old Anatolii Mishustin on a future Christmas classic
slide image
December 15, 2023
We need to break the mental health stigma in football. Here is why
Mental health among football players is overlooked, despite being equally vital as their performance on the pitch. I strongly believe it deserves equal attention and recognition
16 year-old Isaaq Hussain argues against the culture of mental health suppression in football
slide image
December 15, 2023
WHO, paying $250 to sexual assault victims in DRC, proves the world justice system is broken
More than 80 aid workers sent to handle the Ebola outbreak in the DRC have been accused of involvement in a sexual assault scandal. And in the end, those without privileges are left with so-called compensation and a traumatic memory for the rest of their lives
17 year-old Sofiya Tkachenko condemns World Health Organisation’s sexual assault scandal
slide image
December 08, 2023
Don't just diversify the curriculum, decolonise it
The diversified curriculum does not challenge societal power structures which narrow the dominant perspective through which we view the world. It is imperative that we do not stop here
Sanaa Pasha on the diluted version of colonial history in education
slide image
December 01, 2023
Perhaps it is time to cancel ‘cancel culture’
To many, ‘cancel culture’ and the act of boycotting a public figure, has become an important tool of social justice. However, ‘cancel culture’ prioritises public condemnation without fostering constructive dialogue or providing opportunities for redemption
17 year-old Megan Lee on the social justice of "cancelling"
slide image
November 24, 2023
An unexpected ally: how social media could revitalize reading culture
It's high time we put down the pitchforks and extinguish the torches we've been brandishing at TikTok and Instagram. As it turns out, amidst the sea of hashtags and memes, a world of literary innovation awaits
16 year-old Justin Sau explores the boom in reading culture
slide image
November 24, 2023
Motivation is helping me face daily obstacles and it can help you too
Girls like me need all the motivation they can get to stay focused and overcome hardship. I’m 16 and I’m unable to get a proper education in my home country of Afghanistan. But I will not let those limitations determine my future
16 year-old Swita on finding daily inspiration and self-help
slide image
November 24, 2023
Compared to dogs or children, women struggle in the Ukrainian army
Women are a vital part of Ukraine’s future victory but female soldiers continually face restrictions on their basic needs. Instead, women are treated as an object of entertainment rather than living, breathing, and equally capable human beings
17 year-old Sofiya Tkachenko speaks against the discrimination of women in the Armed Forces of Ukraine
slide image
November 24, 2023
How Claudia Goldin inspires me by shattering barriers in the male-dominated realm of economics
Goldin presented a previously unheard-of hypothesis arguing that access to the contraceptive pill played a vital role in accelerating the revolutionary increase in female workforce participation, doubling in size between 1960 and 1980
18-year-old Nadia Diakowska on the inspiration from this year’s Nobel Prize winner in Economics
slide image
November 10, 2023
Learning from Indigenous communities can drive sustainability amid the climate crisis
Indigenous communities make up only 6% of the global population but they conserve 80% of biodiversity. Sustainable practices and respect for the environment are built into their social doctrine which has been passed on for generations
Sanaa Pasha interviews climate activist Yusuf Baluch and Growing up Green founder Amy Campbell
slide image
November 10, 2023
Florida is in the middle of ‘Hurricane DeSantis’ but there will be a rainbow after the storm
Florida may serve as a global punchline, symbolizing a strained political atmosphere, internal divisions, and challenges to democratic values within the United States, but the state holds profound significance for the individuals who call it home
16 year-old Emily Dorman on Ron DeSantis’ triad
slide image
November 10, 2023
Unwritten Dreams. Do I stand a chance to break the generational wealth gap and live the American Dream?
Carved from my parents’ sacrifices, their hopes for a brighter future, and their resilience in the face of adversity, I was grappling with the complexities of “The American Dream” as I questioned whether it truly aligned with the narrative I was enveloped in
17 year-old Abigail Gonzalez Zavala analyzes her chances to make it in 21st century United States
slide image
October 27, 2023
How will the UK’s ageing population affect our wallets?
The ageing population will likely result in the decline of the UK’s active labour force. This will put greater pressure on the future working population - including today’s teenagers - to deliver the funds necessary for the public sector
17 year-old David Otegbola on the economic future of young people
slide image
October 27, 2023
Market economy and school choice improve academic outcomes, so why don’t we learn from science?
Academic variation driven by wealth and access inequalities shapes the present of today’s students. The income gap between lower and upper-class families is one of the greatest predictors of academic outcomes
17 year-old Grace Minakowski was the runner-up for the Harbinger Prize in Economics
slide image
October 27, 2023
Denying treatment because women could get pregnant? That’s a new level of toxic absurdity
Women cannot be stripped of basic services, like healthcare, because of their so-called ‘function’, and the word ‘woman’ should not be synonymous with ‘mother’
17 year-old Sofiya Tkachenko speaks against curbing women’s rights in the US
slide image
October 27, 2023
It’s Haunting. Killers Of The Flower Moon review
Released last week, ‘Killers Of The Flower Moon’ delivers an ultimate epic of love, betrayal, and the nature of evil - unveiling this dark, twisted chapter in American history
17 year-old Anatolii Mishustin praises new film from Martin Scorsese
slide image
October 20, 2023
At 12, I promised myself a hysterectomy. That’s how ignorance of menstrual health tortures girls
Young girls like me will continue to suffer because periods are taboo and we are told period cramps are supposed to hurt. The pain of endometriosis is instead chalked up to female sensitivities, low pain tolerance, and the joys of womanhood
17 year-old Erin Walshaw was the runner-up in the Harbinger Prize in Reporting
slide image
October 20, 2023
History of Australia’s offshore detention camps makes me sickened by my country
Christmas Island is a pristine pocket of land in the Indian Ocean, just below Java, where you will find crystal clear waters, beautiful stretches of white sand beaches, heavenly weather and a long history of human rights violations
15 year-old Tanya Chi essay was the runner-up in the Harbinger Prize in Humanities
slide image
October 20, 2023
Are they ‘women politicians’ or politicians? - the challenges women still face in global governance
As a young woman with an aspiration to join the political world in the future, I couldn't believe the public impudence, the unacceptable behaviour one is signed up to tolerate
17 year-old Aleksandra Lasek on the gender bias in politics
slide image
October 20, 2023
Why the hell is Holden Caulfield the most relatable character I’ve ever read about?
It is extremely hard to know exactly how we wish our lives to turn out at sixteen. Holden is a byword for this identity crisis, reflecting my experience having contradictory feelings running through at such a pace that I feel trapped and unable to process it all
16 year-old Maria Mitko watches her reflection in Salinger’s famous novel
slide image
October 06, 2023
Disappearing in the Pacific. Their islands are sinking, yet we can barely hear calls for help
In the heart of the Pacific Islands, a chorus of student voices resonates together to paint a vivid picture of hopes, concerns, and aspirations despite the nuanced, complex threat that they face
18 year-old Chenxi Zhang wins the Harbinger Prize in Reporting
slide image
September 29, 2023
My 50th birthday: A world without food
A future where real food doesn’t exist anymore may sound like quite a bleak and dystopian future. But this is far closer than we think with the 26-year timer we find ourselves on
17 year-old Christian Yeung wins the Harbinger prize in Humanities
slide image
September 22, 2023
Mass destruction of Ukrainian nature will have a huge impact on the future
The consequences of war have not only ruined lives and negatively impacted the mental health of Ukrainian civilians, but it will also result in long-term ecosphere damage
17 year-old Sofia Radysh interviews UAnimals on the environmental crisis
slide image
September 15, 2023
Ukraine’s leniency towards sexual assault is irreconcilable with our nation’s European aspirations
A recent crime in the Zakarpattya region of Ukraine has proven once again how prevalent the problem with punishment for sexual violence is in the Ukrainian legal system
17 year-old Sofiya Tkachenko on misogyny embedded in Ukraine’s legal system
slide image
September 08, 2023
Trump administration disregard Ruth Bader Ginsburg’s last words
"My most fervent wish is that I will not be replaced until a new president is installed” - the final words of Ruth Bader Ginsburg to her granddaughter, has seen the former justice’s worst fear brought into reality
17 year-old Aleksandra Lasek on the notions of progress
slide image
September 08, 2023
Dying languages: Cultures are being eradicated in silence
Language is often reduced to a tool for basic communication, neglecting its human and cultural significance. Global warming and urbanisation are forcing linguistically diverse communities to migrate, assimilate, and abandon their ancestral tongues
Sophie Yu on the fight to save forgotten languages
slide image
August 25, 2023
Why was 'Secret Invasion' such a flop?
The biggest disappointment is that for a show with shape-shifting aliens it has absolutely no mystery, which is so needed here. 'Secret Invasion' does a lot of telling and not a lot of showing, which essentially comes back to its cheapness
17 year-old Sofia Radysh on the wasted potential of the Marvel star-studded series
slide image
August 12, 2023
Universal higher education should be free. Here’s why
Education should not be privileged and only available to those that can afford it but to everyone. Access to higher education is a necessity not only for people but also for our economy to continue developing
17 year-old Jakub Hejka evaluates the wealth divide in higher education
slide image
August 12, 2023
New ethics legislation on the US Supreme Court is critical to preserving the rule of law
Increasing transparency standards, strengthening the withdrawal process, and requiring Supreme Court justices to adhere to a binding code of conduct is a modest yet essential step to tackle corruption
17 year-old Aleksandra Lasek on the vital regulations needed
slide image
August 12, 2023
Sri Lanka’s restructure of State-Owned Enterprises may pose a threat to the safety of the country
Following the 2022 bankruptcy, the Sri Lankan government has been implementing tough reforms to improve the economy. It appears as though the government is too focused on paying off debts to acknowledge the possibility of compromising safety
17 year-old Nadia Diakowska outlines deficiencies in the government’s decision-making
slide image
August 11, 2023
This year’s A-Level students are experiencing their greatest fear
I believe that teachers play a major role in a students education. With teachers in the UK going on a series of strikes, it impacts both their GCSE and A-Level results
16 year-old Jefferson He on the unfair change in grade boundaries
slide image
August 11, 2023
Titanic sub highlights need for more ocean exploration, not less
While many set their sights on the vast expanses of the Milky Way, we ignore our own precious little blue-green marble. Over 80% of the ocean has never been explored, mapped, or even seen
16 year-old Justin Sau on the untapped potential of our seas
slide image
August 11, 2023
To solve US alcoholism youth should be drinking sooner. Here’s why
From completely banning alcohol to lowering the legal drinking age to 18, to raising it again to 21, nothing seems to solve US alcoholism. I feel that creating any type of concrete barrier creates desire for youth, it creates a natural incentive to want it more
15 year-old Noah Saphier on the legal age of drinking
slide image
August 10, 2023
Are vapes truly safe alternatives to cigarettes?
As a British teenager, I feel that I am constantly exposed to flashy and colourful images of e-cigarettes which is a new way to get young people addicted to nicotine
15 year-old Isaaq Hussain gives his opinion on the UK vape “epidemic”
slide image
August 10, 2023
Sexual assault should not have a timer
The whole case is another terrifying example of how the justice system worldwide fails victims of sexual assault once again and promotes inconsequential violence, as well as gaslighting the victims into silencing their stories and experiences
17 year-old Sofiya Tkachenko looks at a recent sexual assault case in Italy
slide image
August 06, 2023
Russian athletes are once again showing disrespect and officials are doing nothing about it
Disrespect towards Ukrainians from Russians is an everyday occurrence everywhere in the world and this time it was present at an international sports arena
17 year-old Sofiya Tkachenko on the politics of sportsmanship
slide image
July 28, 2023
Barbie review: A must-watch, the allegedly ‘anti-men’ pink extravaganza will make you cry
Barbie is a must-watch for everyone, for young and for old, for women and men. It’s a beautiful story with a powerful message which will leave you thinking about your own experiences and understanding of the patriarchy and how it in fact isn’t about horses
17 year-old Sofia Radysh reviews the record-breaking box office film
slide image
July 21, 2023
Days that marked Afghan girls’ lives
There are days in everyone’s lives that they mark the most regardless of being good or bad. Five students of the journalism learning project at Harbingers’ Magazine – Shanhaza (17), Swita (16), Zainab (13), Naziya (13) and Zohra (17) – interviewed each other to find out about the days that impacted them the most
13-17 year-old OXSFJ and LEARN Afghan students share their life experiences
slide image
July 14, 2023
Rooney’s debut is a must-read for young people. Conversations with Friends review
Sally Rooney did a fantastic job levelling with the reader on many personal, almost gentle levels. This makes this book a must-read for young people – teenagers, those in their 20s or even 30s – who want a light read that also touches you and makes you ask questions you never thought would occur
17 year-old Sofiya Tkachenko reminds of Rooney’s 2017 masterpiece
slide image
July 14, 2023
Lewis Capaldi talks mental health after Glastonbury stage Tourette’s
The Someone You Loved artist faced a moment of crisis when performing at Glastonbury Festival in the United Kingdom
14 year-old Sofia Vorobei on the lesson learnt at Glastonbury
slide image
July 07, 2023
Meet five Afghan girls who dream big for their future
After the Taliban seized power in August 2021, they banned girls from receiving a high school education. Despite these hardships, they are still determined to achieve their goals
13-17 year-old students of the OXSFJ | LEARN Afghan Project share their aspirations
slide image
June 30, 2023
A story that will keep you webbed to the seat. Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse review
The sequel takes everything the audience loved about the first Spider-Verse movie and turns it up a notch – if not more
17 year-old Anatolii Mishustin reviews the latest addition to the Marvel Cinematic Universe
slide image
June 30, 2023
Auto-tune overload. Aren’t we sacrificing musicality for so-called perfection?
Excessive use of auto-tune technology, especially when employed to distort the voice during a live performance, sparks debates about authenticity and emotional connection with the audience
14 year-old Sofia Vorobei takes the side of human imperfection
slide image
June 30, 2023
Unabomber exemplifies dangers of the far-right’s romanticisation of terrorists
On June 10, Theodore “Ted” Kaczynski, known as the Unabomber, died in prison unleashing a social media storm of Unabomber fans wishing him to rest in peace, revealing to the world a harmful and dangerous personality cult
17 year-old Mykyta Yaremenko on Ted Kaczynski’s right-wing fandom
slide image
June 30, 2023
Rare glimpse into 21st century politics of sex and desire. The Right to Sex review
Amia Srinivasan’s collection of six nonfiction essays is an impressive debut. Writing about rape culture, student-professor relationships, prostitution, and pornography, Srinivasan is unafraid to linger near the precipice of taboo
17 year-old Sophie Elliott reviews the 2022 Orwell Prize shortlisted book
slide image
June 30, 2023
Do we prefer AI to shape future generations than to invest in human teachers?
While the global market, however, is leaning towards AI to shape the worldviews of our next generation over human teachers, this does not mean it is the right direction to be headed in
17 year-old Megan Lee follows the money in education
slide image
June 23, 2023
Animal testing made its way onto the big screen. It may be a sign of change
Guardians of the Galaxy vol. 3 is more than a great movie - it also offers insight into cruelty disguised as animal testing
17 year-old Sofia Radysh on animal testing
slide image
June 16, 2023
Poles have had enough! Opposition leader Donald Tusk galvanises Poland’s fight for its democracy
The liberal-democratic Civic Coalition (KO), with the former president of the European Council, Donald Tusk, at the helm, has a chance to take power in Poland. Its electoral campaign was launched with an anti-government rally against the opposition
16 year-old Stanislaw Sankowski explains why 500,000 people marched through Warsaw
slide image
June 09, 2023
Should English Literature be replaced by Global Literature in schools?
In our increasingly diverse and globalized society, the Western canon seems not only restrictive but also exclusionary, calling into question whether the subject of English Literature should be replaced by Global Literature to best reflect the status quo at hand
Megan Lee considers the value behind teaching literature
slide image
April 21, 2023
The Economist’s surprisingly shallow attempt at cracking Gen-Z customers
The Economist’s analysis of young customers falls short of a genuine attempt to give a platform to Gen-Z. It feels like writers and editors have not taken the time to understand and embrace the complexity of the ‘new world of shopping’ they attempted to explain’
18 year-old Natasha Banga on the misaligned voice of youth
slide image
April 21, 2023
Chameleons are the most remarkable and amazing creatures. Here’s why
Chameleons are one of the most diverse and complex animals, with over 200 species and a range of adaptations
13 year-old Lidya Gaspar outlines the incredible traits of chameleons
slide image
April 07, 2023
Unchangeable US police force is responsible for countless unjustified deadly arrests
In order to stop this cycle of repeated police brutality, the system must be changed. Acts, such as the George Floyd Justice in Policing bill should be passed and encouraged
16 year-old Sofiya Suleimenova looks at the consequences of excessive force in the case of Tyre Nichols
slide image
April 07, 2023
Navalny should not have been a winner of an Oscar award
This movie being recognised and celebrated is unacceptable, no matter how good the quality of it might be. Such distinguished organisations with influential platforms like the Academy should consider the context of the movie before representing it
16 year-old Sofiya Tkachenko on the political messages of award-winning films
slide image
March 24, 2023
Babylon’s storytelling of early Hollywood failed to hit the mark - it instead made me gag
While I am not a particular fan of graphic and aggressive movies, I was excited for Babylon. So obviously, my expectations were high, and I decided to throw away my initial biases against Babylon and its gruesomeness. So what did this three-hour long extravaganza provide me with? Nothing but disappointment.
Sofia Radysh's take on the all-star Hollywood film Babylon
slide image
March 17, 2023
What exactly is Justice? The flawed concept behind the death penalty in the US
Organisations such as the Innocence Project work to liberate the innocent, avoid wrongful sentences, and establish systems of justice that are fair, humane, and impartial for all. There have already been 375 cases of exoneration in the US due to new DNA testing, including 21 people serving on death row.
17 year-old Aleksandra Lasek on the importance of re-examination of evidence
slide image
March 09, 2023
Are the Peranakans a part of Singapore’s past or a heritage shaping my life choices?
As I deepened my research into Peranakans, I began to realise that my ancestors far exceed their reputation as creators of imaginative cuisine and eclectic architecture. In fact, the culture not only shapes the Singapore we see today but has largely influenced the choices I have made in life
16 year-old Jinn Ong inquires whether and how it is possible to be Peranakan in the 21st century
slide image
March 03, 2023
‘Know your DNA’ databases could fall into the wrong hands. Policymakers should regulate it
Even with all precautions employed, there is always a chance of getting hacked. Nothing indicates that ancestry DNA databases store personal data in any different place than the information about one’s DNA
18 year-old Gleb Mishin explains the cybersecurity dangers behind DNA testing
slide image
February 09, 2023
Lessons have not been learnt, international law is not stopping Russia
The notions of genocide and crimes against humanity are two essential building blocks for international law and vital parts of the efforts to protect human rights. In his 2016 book East West Street, British writer and lawyer Philippe Sands explains the origins of these notions
Aleksandra Lasek on the constraints of the international criminal law system
slide image
December 18, 2022
Italy’s direct help for Ukrainian refugees is rooted in its EU membership
A question arises: does Italy have double standards and treat people differently depending on where they come from? Or is there a reasonable explanation for the difference in attitudes towards the two groups of refugees?
17 year-old Marco Morchio on difference in Italy's approach to conflicts in Syria and Ukraine
slide image
December 07, 2022
(Un)Open art. Why is modern art so intimidating?
The feeling of misunderstanding art usually evolves from a lack of curated education. But if art is supposed to be free, should education truly play a crucial role in enjoying it?
Maria Chernova shares her opinion on the openness of art and closedness of art recipients.
slide image
December 02, 2022
Young people will pay the price for Putin’s push to re-enact the Cold War
Restoration of the Cold War is the last thing we need in the face of the climate crisis. Now more than ever, what we need is more cooperation between countries
16 year-old Sufiya Suleimenova explores the NATO expansion and climate change concerns
slide image
October 31, 2022
Cold Hard Cash or Change Agent? Charities and the For-Profit Revenue Model
In the world of charitable giving, profit is a dirty word. Most charities rely heavily on donations as their primary source of income. Charities and businesses are divided, not only by their aims, but their revenue streams. Yet, in the bustling city of Kathmandu, I came to question the conviction of this dichotomy
Dylan Yip on incorporating business practice into charity
slide image
October 17, 2022
How war affected young Ukrainians - and what you can do about it?
I know that our stories might seem bizarre, scary, and unrelatable. But everyone can try to understand and relate. And everyone can help - even other young people, and teenagers from around the globe. Why? To support those in need
Maria Rybak shows how the war has influenced lives of young Ukrainians and how powerful world-wide support is
slide image
October 17, 2022
Volunteering at KL Plaszow Museum gave me a chance to fight the Nazi dehumanisation
To many, the concentration camp in Plaszow remains an unknown piece of history. A mere nine-person team at the KL Plaszow Museum and Memorial Site are working to change that. While I had the privilege of being the museum’s first volunteer, the KL Plaszow team hopes to recruit more as they continue working towards their opening in 2025
17 year-old Jonathan Wong on the meaning of voluntary work
slide image
October 07, 2022
The Witcher - a feminist manifesto or a misogynistic tale?
Sapkowski’s saga is not only a fantasy tale - it is also a social commentary. That’s why the TV adaptation has brought into the limelight various types of discrimination, prejudice, and hate-rooted violence
Aleksandra Lasek inquires into the success of Yennefer of Vengerberg as a feminist role model
slide image
October 03, 2022
How jokes on TikTok help Ukrainians
Even during the war, people of different ages can still have a sense of humour and make jokes - which is an essential part of Ukrainian culture
Maria Chernova discusses how jokes on TikTok are helping her and other Ukrainians during the war
slide image
September 14, 2022
The Cupping Room
With the beans right in front of me, I could almost taste the coffee. The sweet and the tangy, the heavy notes and light texture barraging my nose. Tamie described to us the small yet complicated process of coffee roasting
16 year-old Christian Yeung takes a first step into the world of coffee culture, attending a roasting session at The Cupping Room
slide image
August 23, 2022
The voice of fashion stands in solidarity with Ukraine
As we say in Ukraine: “everything will be Ukraine!”. And if so, everything and everyone – including the fashion industry – must admit its political side
Maria Rybak describes how the fashion industry responded to the war in Ukraine
slide image
August 18, 2022
Trump and Johnson: the parallels between their populism and influence
Amongst all their similarities and differences, Trump and Johnson still command a large following. This following can become so loyal, that they are often given near God-like status and threaten to be above the law
Isaac Kadas compares the former leaders current grip to power
slide image
August 09, 2022
Are young people the biggest losers of the UK Conservative race?
Truss believes in spending today and paying it back later. From our young perspective, this benefits the Boomer Generation who will have lower income tax and soon go into retirement, whilst the working population of Millennials and Gen Z will have to pay the price
19 year-old Isaac Kadas explains how the Tory leadership race harms the future of those young today
slide image
August 08, 2022
Women’s Euro 2022, a success and an inspiration to the female youth
It is very refreshing to see how female sport is gaining more recognition and the respect it deserves. Women's football is the fastest growing sport in the UK, and it will be interesting to see how female athletes and sport will develop over the next decade
Timur and Sofiya report on public opinions towards Lionesses’ win in the final
slide image
August 08, 2022
I doubt that Liz Truss will make girls’ lives better. Here’s why
If elected she has the capabilities to make significant headway in the progression of women’s rights, however based on her history of ineffectual action, it is unlikely for her to make tangible change within the UK
17 year-old Grace Whitehouse considers how Women’s rights in Britain will be harmed under Liz Truss leadership
slide image
August 05, 2022
Feminism after the girlboss: anxiety of the bimbo
Bimboism claims to be a leftist-adjacent, anti-capitalist, pro-sex work, pro-LGBTQ feminist movement which attracts significant controversy on TikTok
Sophie Elliott explains ‘bimbo Tok’ in the context of modern feminism
slide image
August 04, 2022
Cost of a trendy pup; the flat-faced issue explained
Humanity has been playing god and creating new breeds for a long time now, and the moment to take responsibility has arrived
16 year-old Sofia Radysh investigates the problems of Brachycephalic dogs
slide image
July 09, 2022
War in Ukraine from the inside
My life, just like the life of other Ukrainians, has been divided into “before” and “after”. Before the 24th of February, I couldn't believe that in the twenty-first century people would be capable of starting an actual war
16 year-old Diana Kuksova reveals how it is to live as a teenager during war
slide image
July 05, 2022
It is teenage girls who will be affected the most by abortion bans in the US
The Supreme Court decision in Dobbs v. Jackson Women's Health Organization case, which removed the right for abortion in the US was done by a group which is 80 percent male, 80 percent white and 100 percent in their 50s or older. The societal group which is going to be affected by the change, is the complete opposite.
16 year-old Sofiya Suleimenova on the implications of overturning Roe vs Wade
slide image
April 05, 2022
Orbán’s comfortable win depicts how Hungary went further East than anyone in the West hoped
Had Orbán lost, there would have been global ramifications - but the same could be said after his victory. Despite recent defeats and being on the back foot, global populism is still alive and has a proven stronghold in Hungary, where one of its principal flagbearers is entrenched. Orbán’s victory shows that if run effectively enough, autocratic governments are very difficult to be unseated.
Isaac Kadas on Hungary’s eastbound journey
slide image
April 03, 2022
There is a global angle to the election in Hungary
Hungary is a nation less than 10 million strong, yet today’s election could unlock the global battle against nationalist populism.
Isaac Kadas explains the battle for populists' stronghold
slide image
March 30, 2022
In Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, I cannot help but see my two sister-nations at war
In Kazakhstan, like in any other former Soviet republic, there is a strong feeling that the Ukrainian struggle against Russia is going to define our fate as well, no matter which way it goes
Ilya Kan on the ripples Putin’s war sent across the former Soviet Union
slide image
November 26, 2021
The @feminist Instagram account took femvertising to the next level
When I look for activism content, I don’t wish to be discreetly tricked into buying a t-shirt, no matter how sustainable it is or what share of the profit goes to good causes.
Eva Smolokovskaya questions the ethics of the @feminist, a social media account with 6.4 million followers
slide image
August 24, 2021
For equality’s sake, Paralympics and Olympics should be united
Although it is hard to imagine, there was also a time when women were not included in the Olympics - yet, in 2021 we do not hold separate games for male and female athletes.
Jinn Ong argues for one Games for all athletes

opinion

Please consider creating an account & signing up for our newsletter.

Support our online magazine and stay connected with the latest articles, updates, and more.

Register now to be a part of our journey and help us continue bringing you quality content! (home)

Login/Register